next up previous contents
Next: Partition types Up: Partitions Previous: The MBRboot sectors

Extended and logical partitions

The original partitioning scheme for PC hard disks allowed only four partitions. This quickly turned out to be too little in real life, partly because some people want more than four operating systems (Linux, MS-DOS, OS/2, Minix, FreeBSD, NetBSD, or Windows/NT, to name a few), but primarily because sometimes it is a good idea to have several partitions for one operating system. For example, swap space is usually best put in its own partition for Linux instead of in the main Linux partition for reasons of speed (see below).

To overcome this design problem, extended partitions were invented. This trick allows partitioning a primary partition into sub-partitions. The primary partition thus subdivided is the extended partition; the subpartitions are logical partitions. They behave like primarygif partitions, but are created differently.

The partition structure of a hard disk might look like that in figure 4.2. The disk is divided into three primary partitions, the second of which is divided into two logical partitions. Part of the disk is not partitioned at all. The disk as a whole and each primary partition has a boot sector.

Figure 4.2: A sample hard disk partitioning.

Andrew Anderson
Thu Mar 7 22:36:29 EST 1996